Allow Myself to Introduce…Myself

Greetings all and welcome to my blog! My name is John Vieira, CTE teacher at O.H. Platt High School in Meriden. I am a proud big brother born in Newington, CT to a pair of the most loving and dedicated parents a wise-cracking knucklehead such as myself could ask for.

What would an introduction be without mentioning my lovely wife, Michelle, who is also a teacher and Head Girls Basketball Coach at Wethersfield High School. We are expecting our first child this coming winter. We are so excited to welcome our little princess into the world!

My journey to becoming a teacher was an interesting one. I started at WCSU as an Elementary Math major. After a year I realized I was more interested in the business side of things, and changed my major to Business. After 2 years at WCSU, I transferred to CCSU where I earned my B.S. degree in Management and Organization.

After graduation, I found it very difficult to find a job in the business world during a time of recession, especially being a recent graduate with no working experience in the field. During this time I was coaching high school basketball at Platt, where I also took a job substitute teaching. This is where I discovered my love for teaching, and getting students to a place where they would not be able to take themselves. I decided to take my love for teaching to a new level and enroll at the University of Bridgeport, where I earned my M.S. in Secondary Education with a concentration on Business Education.

When I am not teaching I am usually watching sports or working on my man-cave (to be named The Bat Cave). I also love movies; favorite ones being Heavyweights and the Dark Knight trilogy. I also love traveling with my wife every summer. We just had a blast in Chicago and hope to make it to Key West in the near future.

I am honored to be a part of the IT & DML program here at UNH. I look forward to working with everyone and learning more about becoming a Digital Leader in today’s blended learning environment!

-John V

Leave a Reply

